Five predictions for the Stanley Cup Finals

Now that we’ve all correctly predicted the Stanley Cup finals matchup (myself included, of course), we can begin actually talking about it and making predictions, because, well, that’s just what people like to do.

Honestly, I’m not entirely sure how to predict this series. Even though I had Tampa going to the finals prior to the playoffs, I’d be lying if I didn’t sense trouble in all three of their series’, yet, here they are. Once it actually came down to a Game 7 against the New York Rangers with King Henrik between the pipes, nobody actually had the Lightning winning that game. You might have had them winning the series before it began, but once it came down to that game, you had to figure the Rangers had the edge. Chicago, meanwhile, a team that has proved year after year that they can’t be counted out, stepped into dynasty territory with a come-from-behind series win over the Ducks. Emilio Estevez AKA Gordon Bombay himself couldn’t will the Ducks to a win – how do you bet against the Hawks again?

I won’t, because I’m not going to make a series prediction. I will, however, predict five things that will happen in the series. People love lists, and nobody wants to read my long-winded series analysis; in fact, I’ve found that nobody really wants to read in general. But I need to make a living, and writing for free makes me forget about how broke I am.

  • Duncan Keith will continue to play 30 minutes a game and the media will continue to run with the story. It’s a crazy feat, to be sure, and the guy simply doesn’t tire. He’s actually played more hockey in the last seven games than most Chicago fans have watched. But can’t we stop making such a big deal about it? He’s 31 years old, not 40, and he’s obviously in tremendous shape, and as long as he can breathe Joel Quenneville is going to throw him over the boards as much as he can. The one interesting storyline should be how Q handles the defensive pairings with two very good forward lines on the Tampa side. Obviously, you want to play Keith against Stamkos, but the “Triplet” line, which has been a little quiet lately, can be dangerous, and was the best “second” line in the NHL this season. I’ll say this: if the Blackhawks win their third Stanley Cup in six years, Keith will be the Conn Smythe recipient.
  • The series will not go seven games. As much as I’d love to see the Cup decided in a Game 7, it just won’t happen in this series. Of course, many are expecting an offensive series with end-to-end rushes, and while that might be the case, it’ll probably lead to a 4-0 or 4-1 series win. It’s so hard to see the Blackhawks losing in five or even six games, but I think that’s the case if Tampa wins, and likewise for the Blackhawks. Again, I hope I’m wrong. And I usually am.
  • Goaltending will not be the deciding factor. Ben Bishop has been fantastic in Game 7s, and fairly good throughout the playoffs. It should be no surprise to many as he was one of the top goaltenders in the regular season; still, there’s a sense that Crawford has the edge heading into the series because of his pedigree. But there’s just too much offensive firepower in this series and I can’t see either goaltender being able to “steal” a game. There’s going to be no shutouts in this series, so take the over.
  • Tampa’s success is dependent on the officiating. The Lightning were able to get by the Rangers in Game 7 without the help of a power-play, and they played a perfect road game, but I’m not sure that’s sustainable. I don’t think they can keep up even strength with a Blackhawks team that can seemingly score at will. However, if the Blackhawks aren’t discipline, the Lightning can make them pay with the man advantage. The Montreal Canadiens were allowed to come back in their second-round series against the Lightning because they played SO disciplined in Game 5 (OK, the refs put the whistle away, which is a SHOCK); regardless, the Lightning never had one power-play that game, and the Canadiens won. The Lightning scored seven power-play goals against the Rangers, and while it wasn’t ultimately THE reason for their series win, it played a big part. If the referees call the four or five penalties that actually happen on a game-to-game basis, then, the Lightning should have a shot.
  • Paul Romanuck will not call a single game in this series. Dear God I hope not. I’ve stated my disdain for him as a play-by-play guy since Rogers brought him back from the 90s where he called World Junior games in a constant loop for eternity (or from Europe, whatever). He was great back then, or at least I thought he was. He’s a smart dude, it seems, but says the weirdest things during the broadcast. I quite enjoy classic literature and even the odd poem, but hockey is not the arena for those mediums. Chirp Bob Cole for forgetting names or getting an offside wrong, but the man has a special gift for adding excitement to the game. I’d rather listen to him say ‘BABY’ on repeat throughout the course of the game than suffer through another Romanuck broadcast. Jim Hughson will suffice, I suppose.

(Chicago in 5, by the way.)

Leave a comment